Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Moa - Universal Album Sampler

A long time ago (probably ten years ago now) I bought an issue of Rolling Stone because it came with a free CD.  This was the CD that it came with.  It's an album sampler for the Icelandic singer Moa.  This was sponsored by Calvin Klein jeans, and you can see Moa wearing their clothes in the image above.  A few years ago I found her album on Amazon.  You can download the album at the Isle of Deserted Pop Stars.

What I did was use the program MusicBee to create a one-track FLAC file of the entire disc.  It contains the full song 'Joy & Pain' and snippets of 'Toy', 'Memory Cloud', 'Overcome' and 'Joy & Pain (Dimtri from Paris Remix)'.  Since it is an FLAC file, it's really big (about 71 MB).


3rd Party - 'Can U Feel It' and 'Love is Alive'

I bought these two singles a long time ago, back when they actually came out.  I didn't know much about the group at all - back then I had a thing for girl groups (and still do, lol).  I finally bought their album last year - you can download it and learn more about the group at the Isle of Departed Pop Stars.

  1. Can U Feel It (LCD Radio Edit)
  2. Can U Feel It (LCD Galactica Edit)

  1. Love Is Alive
  2. Love Is Alive (LCD's Return to Galactica Edit)
  3. Love Is Alive (Stone's Anthem Mix)
  4. Love Is Alive (LCD's Return to Galactica Mix)
  5. Love Is Alive (Cibola Left Coast Trip Mix)

Peach Union - On My Own

I heard the remix of this song on the radio and really liked it - at the time I did not know it was a remix, so I was surprised at the radio edit of the song.  I still like the remix better, but the original has grown on me.  I downloaded the full album at the Isle of Departed Pop Stars but it was kind of 'meh' for me.

  1. On My Own (Single Mix)
  2. On My Own (RH Factor Radio Edit)
  3. Higher Ground

Qkumba Zoo - The Child (Inside)

I have both the single and maxi single for this song - what I have here is the single.  I can rip the maxi as soon as I find it.  ;-)  But the album art above isn't for the single, at least not for the one I have.  Anyway, I was very intrigued by the album art for this single so I decided to grab it, and really liked the song.  I bought the maxi and soon after that got the album.  The album can be downloaded from the Isle of Deserted Pop Stars, where you can also learn a little more about the band. 

  1. The Child (Inside) [Radio Mix]
  2. The Child (Inside) [Berman Brothers Remix Edit]
  3. Wake Up & Dream [Album Snippets]

Tia - Cars

I remember buying Tia's debut album way back in 1996 or so, around when it was released.  I really liked it, so when I saw this single at the local Wal Mart I had to have it, since 'Cars' by Gary Numan is one of my favorite '80s tracks.  Tia's version has some new lyrics written by Tia herself and Sunne, and it was produced by Sir Mix-A-Lot.  You can download her debut album at The Isle of Deserted Pop Stars.

  1. Cars (Intake Mix)
  2. Cars (Elevation Mix)
  3. Cars (Convertible Mix)
  4. Cars (Nitrous Ultimix)
  5. Cars (Injected Instrumental)

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Geri Halliwell - Look At Me

Image Credit:  Lone Star Spice
'Look At Me' was Geri's debut solo single, released in 1999.  Sadly, it only went to number 2 on the UK charts, and I don't think it did well at all in the US.  Below is the tracklising for the single, and I included the US edit, which removes the Shirley Bassey-ish bridge.
  1. Look At Me
  2. Look At Me (Mark!s Big Vocal Mix Sugary Edit)
  3. Look At Me (Terminalhead Remix)
  4. Look At Me (US Radio Edit)
Download (Mediafire folder)

Saturday, September 5, 2009

Bond - The Four Seasons

Album art made by me.
Earlier this year Bond released a free EP based on Vivaldi's 'Four Seasons' as part of a promotion for Peugeot.  It is their first release with new member Elspeth Hanson. 

  1. Autumn
  2. Spring
  3. Summer
  4. Winter 

Ladytron - Songs from The Sims 3

Ladytron produced three new tracks for the popular PC game The Sims 3.  They also provided an instrumental version of 'Ghost' for The Sims 2.

  1. Young Etruscians
  2. She Stepped Out Of The Car
  3. Rockfalls and Estuaries
  4. Ghosts (Instrumental)

Thursday, September 3, 2009

Kaori - Flow

According to this Last FM profile, Kaori is a Japanese singer.  I saw this on iTunes, previewed it and liked it.  It's more like downtempo house.

1.  Liquid Room
2.  Mawaru Sekai
3.  Night World
4.  Open Your Window
5.  Make Me Crazy
6.  Shiranai Sekai
7.  Time Liner
8.  Waving
9.  Butterfly
10.  Cold Play
11.  Cruisin' Pink Cadillac


Huski - Strangelove tracks

I am very much looking forward to the UK duo Huski's second album, called Strangelove.  According to their MySpace page, the album has gone to manufacturing.  Fortunately, there are some tracks from the album on their MySpace music player.  Last year I managed to save the following tracks onto my computer.
  1. First Light
  2. Front Row Seat
  3. Senseless

Sarah Brightman - Amalfi (Love Songs)

'Amalfi' is a collection of previously released songs, compiled to promote the Japanese film 'Amalfi' in which Sarah appears in. This compilation was released only in Japan, but Sarah's official store is selling imports to fans outside Japan. The CD has a booklet with new photos.

01. Time to Say Goodbye (solo version) - Classics
02. La Wally - Classics
03. Il Mio Cuore Va - Eden, Diva
04. O Mio Babbino Caro - Classics
05. Anytime, Anywhere - Eden
06. Attesa - Symphony
07. Lascia Ch'io Pianga - Eden, Classics
08. Nella Fantasia - Eden, Diva
09. La Luna - La Luna
10. Solo Con Te - La Luna
11. Ave Maria (Schuber). - Classics
12. Until The End Of Time - Harem
13. Storia D'Amore - Symphony
14. Jesu, Joy Of Man's Desiring - A Winter Symphony
15. La Califfa - La Luna
16. Serenade - La Luna
17. How Fair This Place - La Luna
18. Amazing Grace - A Winter Symphony
19. Nessun Dorma - Eden


Wednesday, September 2, 2009

Little Boots - Illuminations EP

Little Boots recently released an EP called 'Illuminations', which as some tracks from her debut album 'Hands' as well as a couple of non-album tracks.  The iTunes version included the music video for 'New In Town' and a booklet with lyrics.

  1. New In Town
  2. Stuck On Repeat
  3. Not Now
  4. Magical
  5. Love Kills